2015 – Peter Hennicke

On the theme The Energy Transition – Solar Energy and Energy Efficiency

In 2015 the award was shared equally between Beate Weber-Schuerholz and Peter Hennicke from Germany, and Jeremy Leggett from England.

Dr. Peter Hennicke has a background in chemistry and economics, a postdoctoral qualification in Economic Policy with emphasis on Energy Policy from the University of Osnabrück, and is called Germany’s ”bishop” within energy efficiency. He has been a pioneer of the energy transition, die Energiwende. Already in 1985, Peter Hennicke wrote the book “Die Energiewende ist möglich”.

Moreover, Dr. Hennicke has held posts such as head of the leading Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, has worked for the UN and is today a member of the Club of Rome.

Jury's motivation

This year’s prize in the area of solar energy is awarded to Jeremy Leggett and this year’s prize in the field of energy efficiency is awarded to Peter Hennicke and Beate Weber-Schuerholz.

Peter Hennicke’s research and participation in governmental expert groups has greatly influenced the country’s development. He has clarified to decision makers at various levels that it requires a combination of renewable energy and energy efficiency for an energy transition to take place. Even more, Peter Hennicke has managed to pinpoint and voice the several benefits to the society that may follow from such a transition. By managing to transfer these insights to an important audience of decision-makers Peter Hennicke has inspired those who have the power to take the important steps towards sustainability.