For outstanding contributions
towards a more sustainable future.

The world’s leading sustainability award aims to recognize and support outstanding contributions from around the world.
Our goal is to stimulate creativity and achieve lasting synergies as we strive to strike the right balance between ecological, environmental and social needs.
The prize has been presented in Gothenburg since 2000.

Who can win?

The award may be given to a person or organization that has contributed to:
• Conserving resources and/or furthering renewable raw materials or ecological solutions.
• The solution to a problem (area) that can lead to a technological breakthrough or “system change”.
• Creating and/or driving a process concerning the environment which has been important for the Gothenburg region as well as in a larger perspective.
• Development towards greater global justice.



WIN WIN Gothenburg Sustainability Award is a non-profit association financed by City of Gothenburg, Region Västra Götaland and eleven other member organizations and companies. You can learn more about our members under Partners.  The winners of the award is appointed by an independent jury.



Are you interested in being a part of the WIN WIN organization? If we have any opportunities available we will list it below. If we don’t have any current opportunities available, feel free to send a general application to


The Office

Our office is located at the Gothenburg Centre for Sustainable Development (GMV). GMV is a co-operation platform for sustainable development and environmental research mandated by both Chalmers University of Technology and University of Gothenburg.

The present administration consists of:
Nathalie Bödker-Lund,
Head of Operations
Lovisa Ralpher, Project Manager
Erik Sellgren, Communications Manager

Staffan Alfredsson, Finances & Communication
Lisa Kolarby, Project Assistant



The Jury

The jury is seven persons representing a wide range of experience from the business community as well as the academy and public sector and with a great knowledge within the environmetal- and sustainability areas.

The present jury consists of:
Chairperson: Emma Dalväg, Coest AB
Other jury members: Anna Lidström, Björn Siesjö, Johanna Stål, Jörgen Larsson, Ola Serneke and Sverker C Jagers.
Expert advisor on the theme Biodiversity: Allison Perrigo, Director of the Gothenburg Global Biodiversity Centre.




The Jury Selection Committee

The jury selection committee is responsible for making sure the WIN WIN jury consists of knowledgeable and qualified members.

The jury selection committee consists of:
Birgitta Nilsson, Regional Development at Region Västra Götaland
Else Ingeborn, Global Client Executive at SEB
Jonas Wilhelmsson, Head of Innovation and Sustainability at Ericsson Göteborg
Mikael Östblom,
 Communications Strategist at Gothenburg Centrum for Sustainable Development
Sara Pettersson, Planning Officer Environment and Climate at the City of Gothenburg



The Board

The board is made up of representatives from our members. Three representatives from the City of Gothenburg, two representatives from the Region Västra Götaland and two representatives from out other partner companies and organizations.

The present board consists of:
Chairperson: Axel Josefson (M), chairperson of the municipal exectuvie board of the City of Gothenburg
Vice chairperson: Kerstin Lindeberg Göransson, Akademiska Hus
Other board members: Emmyly Bönfors (C), municipal commissioner in the City of Gothenburg, Karin Pleijel (MP), municipal commissioner in the City of Gothenburg, Magnus Berntsson (KD), chairperson of the environmental committee, the Region Västra Götaland, Erik Kyrkander (V), 2.nd vice chairperson of the environmental committee, the Region Västra Götaland & Eva Halvarsson, CEO the Second AP Fund


Collaborations – Biodiversity

Each year, the WIN WIN Award collaborates with actors who possess expert knowledge within the specific theme of the year. The theme of 2020 is Biodiversity and WIN WIN Award has teamed up with the Gothenburg Global Biodiversity Centre (GGBC).

The GGBC is a collaborative effort driven by its thirteen partner institutions from both inside and outside of academia and hosted at Gothenburg University in Gothenburg, Sweden. The centre and its partners bring together scientists and the public to create a greater understanding and appreciation for the natural world around us. The GGBC has a global outlook, extending well beyond the borders of its home base in Sweden.




Yearly, the GAME/Agenda 2030 in West Sweden arranges a seminar with a workshop on the same theme as the WIN WIN Gothenburg Sustainability Award. It is an opportunity for stakeholders from different sectors in western Sweden to meet, discuss, and find mutual synergies for collaborative action to further the issues. In 2018 and 2019, the winner of WIN WIN Award was announced at the GAME/Agenda 2030 in West Sweden’s seminar.


GAME Network